Free Shipping
On ALL Orders Over $50. Details

Free shipping is valid in the U.S. only (within the 48 contiguous U.S. states) on purchases of $50 or more in the same order. Orders less than $50 have 20% calculated shipping fee.

International shipping is excluded from this offer, additional shipping charges apply. You will be notified prior to shipment. If you have an international order, please contact us at, or call 845-239-3020.

Thanks for shopping with us!

New Larsen Strings: Il Cannone for Violin

Please select your strings below to add to cart: 

Il Cannone Set W
ILC10-1   Il Cannone violin set, Medium.  Intro Price: $81.85 

(The intro price is good through Nov. 30, 2017.)

Il Cannone Solo Set W
ILC10SOLO-1   Il Cannone violin set, Soloist.    Intro Price: $81.85

(The intro price is good through Nov. 30, 2017.)


String Details:

The Il Cannone E string is made using a unique carbon steel, while the A, D and G strings build on a new, synthetic multi-filament core. The A string is wound with precision rolled aluminium flat wire and the D and G strings are wound with pure silver. The E string has a removable ball.


A little background…

The ‘Il Cannone’ Guarnerius violin, 1743, was made by Giuseppe Guarneri ‘del Gesù’ of Cremona (1698–1744). The violin acquired its name from the former owner and virtuoso Niccolò Paganini (1782–1840). Il Cannone is known for its resonance and power and is so deeply associated with Paganini that the violin is often known as simply Il Cannone, ex-Paganini. The Virtuoso Niccolò Paganini's exceptional virtuoso talent and his remarkable dexterity and flexibility accorded him an almost mythical and rather mystical reputation during his lifetime. Paganini possessed unusually long fingers and was capable of playing three octaves across four strings in one hand span. His talent was viewed as so extraordinary, verging on the unnatural, that he was seen as having associations with the supernatural. Something that he apparently did nothing to discourage given the publicity and notoriety that he was subsequently rewarded with.

‘Dedicated to the Artists’ was Paganini’s own dedication accompanying the release of his 24 Caprices for Violin (1820).